Mint Does Davos


400 years of democracy and what have the Swiss got to show for it? Well, besides chocolate, the cuckoo clock, and the Swiss army knife, Switzerland also boasts the World Economic Forum, the organization that hosts Davos every year. Amid the debates on world economic policy, they also take time to honor 30-40 companies whose technologies are expected to have a deep impact on global business and society with the Technology Pioneer awards.

We’re excited to announce that the world’s leading technology experts have selected as a Technology Pioneer 2009. 34 companies made the final cut, from among more than 320 applications. We’ll be hanging out with ex-Presidents, rockstars, and software moguls and it’s bound to be an interesting and exciting time. was always intended to help people get their savings on track by making personal finance easier, more affordable, more automatic and more accessible. That’s why, especially in this economic downturn, we are proud to be honored, not just for our technology, but for the service we perform for our users.

Geeks take note, the list of winners includes such world-changing tech as in-body computing platforms for personalized healthcare; utility-scale solar power projects; miniaturized 3G mobile networks; energy-efficient electric motors and smart-grid solutions. We think a good approach to managing your money is just as important.

This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Forum’s Technology Pioneers program. Honored alumnae included such acknowledged technology and market leaders as Google, Mozilla Corporation and Infosys.

The class of 2009 is geographically diverse; showing that solutions to the world’s problems can and should come from anywhere in the world. Not surprisingly, North America and Europe do their part to represent, but for the first time ever, there are Technology Pioneers from the People’s Republic of China, Africa (Ghana and Nigeria) and Chile. The honorees include companies from a total of 15 countries, including Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Japan, India, the Netherlands, Norway, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the USA.

Mint will be joining the other award winners at the World Economic Forum’s Annual Meeting to be held in Davos, Switzerland in January, 2009.


Leave a Reply